Keeping The Gloves On

In the Midst of Tragedy

 Mrs. Blue

Mr. Red

 

Standing Firm

Last March 11, 2011 a powerful M9 earthquake struck Japan after New Zealand was rocked with a M6. A devastating tsunami followed and wiped out most of Fukushima, the northern part of Japan. Up to this time they are still experiencing M6 aftershocks, they are struggling mightily to control the nuclear fallout from their damaged nuclear power plant, a whole town has been reduced to nothing by the tsunami. If that earthquake and tsunami can cripple Japan, one of the leaders in Asia in technology and economy, what more of neighboring countries that are not as advanced?

But I see Japan’s strength in its people – there has been no looting, no pilferage, no violence, zero crime. In fact, the Japanese are seen going out cleaning, rebuilding, helping victims. The Japanese are truly a commendable and great patriotic people.

That is one thing positive we see.  Character is tested through the crucible of tragedy.  Against the backdrop of the worst events the light of discipline, integrity, and unshakeable hope shines through.

Right now disasters are the only thing that is in everybody’s mind. We are nervous of the impending doom, our imaginations dwell on unpredictable events. Yet as nervous as everyone could ever be. I will remain calm and trust that everything is according to plan by the Lord.

How we deal with our anxiety will reveal the strength of our soul.  The shadow cast by these disasters may seem terrible and big but hope’s radiance will always overcome it.

Hence, I refuse to be crippled by this fear and I will not allow myself to be a victim of unfounded fears. If this is a test, then I will hold on to the fact that God has better plans amidst all the chaos. Floods, earthquakes, tsunamis can plague any nation but I fear God than any disaster.

I stand firm in my faith.

 

Why?

The recent earthquakes experienced in New Zealand and the earthquakes and tsunami that hit Japan have caused a lot of people to question their faith. Many have started going to church, both regular church members and non-members alike seeking to find the answer to why such tragedies happen and how a loving God fits into the picture.

I had an uncle once who was a very devoted father and husband. They were not rich so his wife had to work overseas to help augment the family income. The internet was not yet around back then so he and his wife kept in touch through costly long distance phone calls and occasional telegrams when there was an emergency. Day after day the family did its best to survive life’s hardships. Only the sight of his children and the thought of being reunited with his wife in the near future kept him going.

A few weeks before Christmas, he made a phone call to his wife. With tear-filled eyes he asked, “Can’t you come home for Christmas? I don’t know if I could make it without you.”

“Just hang in there. My work contract will be renewed if I stay here and work this holiday season. Please just be patient a little bit more. When everything has been signed I will come home next summer,” she replied.

But the kids miss you. I miss you. Why not come home and just try to find a new job early next year,”
he said.

“Honey, you know it’s not that easy. I’m doing this for all of us. Please understand,” and with that, they said their goodbyes.

Two weeks before Christmas, he died of heart failure.

His wife came home. I spoke to her and she asked me, “Why? Why did God allow this to happen? Couldn’t He have done something to prevent this from happening?”

Many have echoed these words throughout history, and many are asking them again after the tragic events in New Zealand and Japan.

Sadly, I myself do not know the answer.

What I do know however is that God is still in control (Jeremiah 32:17) and that in the face of tragedy, during our times of loss and sorrow, God is with us. Remember that “the LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” (Psalm 34:18)
If you are fearful or mourning the loss of loved ones, I urge you not to distance yourself from God. Instead draw near to the God of comfort and experience his peace in the midst of this storm.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort,  who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. “ (2 Corinthians 1:3-4)

March 23, 2011 Posted by | Mr. Red, Mrs. Blue, Spirituality | , , , , , | Leave a comment